SODA BOMB – I WANNA DIE

Soda Bomb 2

In other band-I-really-like-saying-they’re-releasing-new-music news, it’s Soda Bomb! There are promises of a full-length and also of a Cher cover and also there is this video from a live show which is almost entirely new songs, so that’s enough to be getting on with for now. All this is probably a reflection of a period in my life when the only reason I went on the internet was to see if there were any new Soda Bomb songs, but obviously there are plenty of old ones too!

First released on 2012’s Hooligan and then rerecorded for 2013’s The Future is Gonna Suck, ‘I Wanna Die’ is my favourite Soda Bomb song, ever.  The first 30 seconds or so are almost too good. There’s that guitar bit which summons the kind of awkward, never before released passions in me that mean it would probably be my hype song if ever I was gonna fight a dog to the death (but I would never actually hurt animals). If I were Soda Bomb (in my dreams), I’d use that opening guitar bit at least a few more times, but they only play it once which makes the song even more perfectly, brattily unsatisfying. Despite everything, ‘I Wanna Die’ somehow ends up being kind of life-affirming and uplifting. Musicians have tried for decades, or even longer, to express this kind of angst, and shining through the mountain of failed attempts is ‘I Wanna Die’ by Soda Bomb. It’s neither apocalyptic nor too clever, it is exact and essential.

‘I could never, I could never, I could never, I could never, I could never, I could never, I could never, I could never change’

 

The world holds its collective breath and awaits more Soda Bomb music

Go to bandcamp and download all of their stuff for free!

 

Leave a Reply

